Daily Prompt: Say Your Name – Jayati

Jayati : Winner

My parents decided to name me Jayati when i won the first battle of my life. I was an underweight,  premature baby. By God’s grace and care of my parents and elders i survived and thus won that battle. That’s how i was named “Jayati”. My parents wanted me to successfully win all the battles of my life ahead, to face the challenges bravely and to stand out as a winner. I have tried to do my best to achieve this aim till now. Everyone faces challenges and crossroads in life and i started facing them since the day i was born. So i guess i have more experience now than my peers 😀

Although Shakespeare said that What is there in a name ? i believe that a lot is there in a name. Name is our identity. It is how we are known to others. I have also analyzed that in most cases one can find the traits of characteristics of name in people. For e.g. people whose names are related to music are usually good musicians or singers, people who are named after gods or goddesses are usually successful, people whose names mean beautiful are usually pretty. This is not the case all the time but as per my interaction its mostly true.

I just love my name. Actually speaking i am proud of it. I love my parents for giving me this name. I have tens of nicknames but my actual first name “Jayati” is my favorite. I like its sound. I like its spelling. I like it in every possible way. I like that it begins with the letter 10th letter J. Thus i will never change my name !

8 comments on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name – Jayati

  1. Balu says:

    I like your name too 🙂

  2. Pratz says:

    how about Ankita Jayati?:)

  3. Zen A. says:

    Jayati is a pretty name, and the meaning behind it is quite interesting. 🙂

  4. Sridhar J says:

    Nice post Jayati! What makes anyone’s name special is when that person feels it as special.. Your post made me think about my name.

    • Jayati says:

      Rightly said Sridhar. A name can be special only if a person can have a connection with one’s name !
      Sridhar is probably Lord Vishnu’s name.

Leave a Reply

