College vs Branch

Again it’s that time of the year when all are busy preparing for IIT-JEE and AIEEE. After around two years of hard work the D-day comes. After the exam the question that lingers on the minds of all (students and their parents :)) is What should be given preference College or Branch ?

There are a few brilliant ones who get their favorite branch in the college of their choice. But all are not so lucky. Others have to decide what to choose ?? College or Branch ?? And it is a big question and its result will have a huge effect on the future !

In my opinion if you are clear about the branch you want to choose then please give preference to the branch. Otherwise if you are not sure of the branch then try to get admission in the best college you can get.

College plays a major role in shaping our lives. The faculty, the atmosphere, the facilities and our friends, all are important. We get placed for the first time through campus placements. So college is important. But branch will decide the type of work you will do. For example if you want to do computer engineering and you get chemical engineering in a good college what will you do ? I suggest that if you really love computer engineering then choose branch over college. Because such a chemical engineer may regret his decision all his life and there is no way out.

On the other hand if you choose your branch in a not so good college atleast you will be able to do something you really love. You will enjoy your studies. Also if you work hard and do well you will be successful.

This was one of the biggest questions i have faced in my life. I wanted guidance and i got it which helped me making the correct decision. Hope that all are able to do so. I have seen many people who suffer all their lives doing things they do not love doing. You make the right decision. All the best !

13 comments on “College vs Branch

  1. sugeethscribbles says:

    Every student who is about to take his next step from 12th to college goes through this dilemma. There can never be a definite answer to your question and it will differ from person to person. However, i shall tell you one important aspect that may help solve this riddle.

    80-90% of all companies that come to hire a student from an engineering college ( irrespective of whether you are from IIT or ABC Engg College – only the base package changes) are software companies. The branch is immaterial for them. So, if in the end, if you took up an IT job with a big company for a big fat fresher pay, the branch is immaterial. But if you plan to insist on going for a core job ( companies will be less) or do an M.S, then choosing a branch over college would be preferential.

    • Jayati says:

      Thats true, however i feel that a IT person will be more comfortable in an IT job (and love their job if they chose IT by choice) as compared to his peers who are from other branches (even though finally all adapt as per the requirements of the company).

      • sugeethscribbles says:

        Don’t let your decisions be judged by misconceptions. Indian IT is such that any student from any branch can easily adapt into the system. Infact, a lot of non IT engineers do better than IT educated engineers in their jobs.

        The remaining core engineers who only make it to the top league companies of their respective core departments are paid salaries that are equivalent to their IT peers. Most of them are severely underpaid compared to IT packages.

        I am from Electronics and Comm. My core area of work expertise is “Signal Processing”. What do you do there? Write code, optimize code, remove bugs, manage an OS that runs several parallel threads etc.. All of this is common to any system in IT. It might only be the difference in program language and the platform.

      • Jayati says:

        Its great that people from all branches have the same opportunities in IT sector.
        But salary is not the only criteria, overall life and job satisfaction also matters a lot.
        So i am just saying that choose the branch you like, later on jobs can be chosen as per the caliber of the person and the choices available. Also a deserving person will shine anywhere.
        I am not against IT sector. I am its part and i like it very much. I am just suggesting that do not blindly follow the crowd. Do as your heart and mind says!

  2. True and upto the apt adivce!
    I wish so much you were here last year!:D
    I went through such questions too, Now I am satisfied and I am happy I did it!:)
    Thanks for sharing this post!
    P.S : Remarkable, as I write this, there are lakhs of students giving jee today ! 🙂

  3. Jayati says:

    Your Welcome 🙂

  4. |nabadip| says:

    I know what you are talking about!:)
    gave the iitjee on sunday and a hell of a lot more joints comin up!

  5. Kam says:

    I thought I was safe from all the confusion which an engineering student goes through when I chose to study commerce as a subject. But, that’s just the same (may not be up to the same level of confusion etc..) for every course or study.

    More to it, god did not leave me, easily. He made me survey on this for my cousins, friends, etc… haha… 😀

    A good advise you gave, anyway! Appreciate.

  6. Kam says:

    Wow! with this one, I could read almost all your posts. Haha…

    I could clearly see an improvement in the writing and am sure, you will keep it up. So, remember, you need to give me an Ice-cream if at all, we meet anytime in the future. haha.. 😀

    • Jayati says:

      That’s awesome !
      Thanks for going through all my posts and giving your valuable feedback. I am sure a blogger is happiest we s/he gets feedback from the blog readers. It motivates us to keep writing.
      I hope i am able to move ahead on my improvement graph and hone my writing skills 🙂
      A party for sure if we meet in future 😀

Leave a Reply

